A Jannypie Exclusive!

October 18, 2008 at 9:56 pm 1 comment

A Kids Stuff World First – an exclusive interview:

JannypieMany readers may remember the ever talented Jannypie from our Nie Nie Auction back in August or perhaps you are still coveting our custom blog banner she created. Either way, it’s time everyone got to know Janny just a little bit better. 

Janny is the kind of girl you would have been friends with in school. She’s smart, she’s funny, she’s super talented, and she’s always willing to lend a hand. Coincidentally, I didn’t know Janny in school… in fact, I have never met her face to face but I feel as if I have known her for years. She just gives off that sort of vibe when you meet her (online or offline). Don’t believe me? Take a few minutes and see for yourself.

KSW: Hi Janny, let’s start by stating what a great admirer we are of you creativity. You can really do it all and thanks again for creating our gorgeous web banner, we’ve gotten tons of compliments on it already. Also, congratulations on being the first ever interviewee for Kids Stuff World!

Janny: Thank you so much for featuring me, I love what you are doing with your blog and am honored to be interviewed by you!

KSW: We first met through TheNest, it’s kind of like being in high school all over again. As a Nestie, I was always drawn to you because you were nice to the “new kids” and even responded to posts not by the resident “in” crowd. We both know how cliquish The Nest can be sometimes. I really appreciate that quality in a blogger, sometimes the forums can be a scary place. You never know who you’re really chatting with. Can you write a few lines that will give us an impression of the real you.

Janny: Aw, thank you for that. I like making people feel welcome and thought of, no matter who it is. I am in real life as I am online- friendly, nerdy, crafty, very caring, and a little scatterbrained! 

KSW: You are a terrific graphics designer (see our banner for proof), How did you get into designing blog banners/buttons?

Janny: I’ve actually been designing websites for friends and groups since 2000 or so- with the explosion of personal blogging and my new love of digital scrapbook elements, its a natural progression.

KSW: You also run your own blog, Jannypie.com, and a craft blog called Martha Daily, make tons of crafts, plan events in your off-time, remodel your home and you have your very own Etsy store, Hoo Made it. That’s quite  a lot of extra activities for a lady who works all day. Where do you find the time to do all these things?

Baby Shower1Baby Shower2
Baby Shower3

Janny: Sadly I don’t really have time for all of it. I had to close my first etsy store, NestingDesigns, in the spring of this year to focus my energy on renovating the house and hosting several celebrations for my closest friends. Everything was a complete success though and now that those events are done, I am once again driven to craft. When you truly love what you’re doing and the impulse is coming from inside you to create, you just find the time when you can, you fit it into the little moments of the day. They become the most enjoyed moments. 

KSW: Your crafts are ingenious, but we don’t want to spoil the build-up for you. Why don’t you tell us about some of your favorite crafts (that you’ve completed) and which ones are you the most proud of?
Garden Birdhouse
Memo Board
Feather Lamp
Craft Desk

Janny: Definitely my proudest project was building my craft desk, because it has been the largest and most challenging to date. I was told that I couldn’t do it, and I wanted to prove to myself that I could. I use it every day, and I am so happy with it.

My favorite crafts are ones that either please some inner child in me, such as my kitty iPod cozies, or challenge me, such as my glicee paintings that I made on commission. My most enjoyable to make crafts are the digital scrapbook pages, I just have so much fun with those. 

Kitty IPOD cozieIPOD cozie
Giclee Painting
Digital Scrapbooking

KSW: Is there any blogger or blog that you really admire?  Name a few bogs you cannot go a day without reading?

Janny: Oh absolutely. I love bloggers that get involved with their readers, like you, and Robyn of Happy House of Haas. I really admire Jenn of Hostess with the Mostess, who responds to readers and has the most fabulous things featured in her blog. She really inspires me to be more modern with my own creations. Crafts don’t have to be grandma-at-the-country-fair, they can be fun and bright and modern too. It’s all in how you approach them.

Other blogs I heart are Cuteable, Nesting Place, and Poppytalk. Those would be my top 3 favorite blogs and recommended reading!

KSW: Do you have set any personal goals in regards to your party planning, blogging or crafting? If so, what’s your next step towards reaching those goals?

Janny: Actually, I created a New Years Resolution scrapbook for my crafting goals this year! So yes, I do set my own goals- always to challenge myself, and to do something better next time. Maybe it is to try a new type of craft, like plushies, or to serve a new recipe at the next party. I consider myself still a beginner in most things, there are always new things to learn and to ask myself “Can I do that?”

KSW: Finally, can you give KidsStuffWorld readers a “sneak peek” into what’s coming up next for Jannypie? More home renovation projects, new items for the etsy store? Tell us we’d love to know.

Janny: Oh my goodness, I am so excited to start in my new direction. I have two major projects lined up for the rest of this year. A line of “Scented Science” plushies- nerdy science things like bacteria and cells stuffed with aromatherapy beads. They are so much fun, and will be in my Etsy store soon! And… (my biggest secret so far)… a business to design and create digital scrapbooks for clients!! I have gotten a lot of interest and encouragement from older moms, grandparents, aunts, etc who would love a scrapbook of their photos but don’t have the time or talent to create their own. I’ve been working on designs and details since March and am close to announcing my website soon. 

Thank you again Stacy! I have really enjoyed this!!

Now that you’ve gotten a glimpse, be sure to keep tabs on her on her site Jannypie, you never know what she’ll come up with next.

I believe she’ll have a line of Christmas cards coming up this year to purchase, maybe on her Etsy store? She has a few previews posted on her site

Entry filed under: Reasons to Love. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Cute snack idea Who said it’s not easy being green?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sam  |  October 23, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Aw! I seriously heart JannyPie. She is one of the nicest people you will ever meet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Prayers Needed, Pass It On

Categories

CONTESTS/GIVEAWAYS

HearthSong Scholarship

BADGES/AWARDS

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge Mommy & Family Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

