Fairy Wishes, Butterfly Dreams

October 15, 2008 at 10:40 pm 3 comments

Butterfly costume
Photo from here

I stumbled across this image a few months ago and just knew I wanted to recreate this costume for my daughter for Halloween. I threw all reality out the window and went sheerly on impulse disregarding the fact that my 20 month old has never worn a costume, let alone a super pouffy tutu and is pretty particular about her clothing. In preparation for the event, I scooped up tons of gorgeous tulle, I researched the easiest ways to create a tutu online, and then I got to work creating my own version of this fairy skirt each night after work. Hours later I ended up with one gorgeous tutu if I must say so myself. I chose to mix colors pink, blue, and purple in several layers creating a beautiful effect. I was so excited for my little one to see the finished product. I waited patiently all day on Saturday waiting for the perfect opportunity to introduce her to my beautiful creation. It never once occurred to me, no not even once, that my wee one would be DEATHLY afraid of the thing. Yes, deathly. Just being near it brings her to tears, its a real shame- she would have made the most beautiful butterfly/fairy. So it goes, there’s always next year – or the year after that…

I used this method with more layering and color blending to create a no-sew tutu. I’ll post pictures of my version this weekend.

Entry filed under: DIY Hallowen Costumes, DIY Parenting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Happiness is a Butterfly Adorable Sock Monkey Costume

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daycare Equipment  |  October 16, 2008 at 2:23 am

    What exactly is she afraid of?? Poor thing.

    Reply
  • 2. Tracy Jackson  |  April 30, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    :( So sad to hear. I have three little girls, and my youngest was afraid of them too. This year she is really into the dressing up, but she wants to be a cat. :) I think she dresses up everyday to dance and play, so being a cat is different. Does she have many dress up clothes? If not, maybe let her play in it a couple times to get used to it. Good luck! :)

    Reply
  • 3. breonna  |  October 3, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    I would absolutely love to buy this for my lil girl to wear for Halloween. You know the song she’s a butterfly by Martina McBride its our song she’s a miracle she’s had 3 open her surgery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Prayers Needed, Pass It On

Categories

CONTESTS/GIVEAWAYS

HearthSong Scholarship

BADGES/AWARDS

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge Mommy & Family Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

